Shree Manibhai Virani & Smt. Navalben Virani Science College, Rajkot (Autonomous)

Affiliated to Saurashtra University, Rajkot

BOARD OF STUDIES – BIOCHEMISTRY

Details of Meeting:

Mode of Meeting	Online and Offline		
Date	30 th June 2021		
Time	11:30 Am		
Platform	Google Meet		
	Session I- General Meeting - Common Agenda- 10:30 to		
Venue and Link Details	11:30 AM		
with ID, Password etc	Link: https://meet.google.com/qmn-becd-nvr		
	Session II: BoS Biochemistry		
	Time: 11:45 to 1:30 PM		
	Link for online meeting: https://meet.google.com/qts-		
	<u>qvst-bqr</u>		
	Join by Phone: Dial-in:(US)+1 260-344-4443 PIN:154 604 095#		
Venue for off-line meeting	BiochemistryDepartment, Shree M. & N. Virani Science College, Rajkot		

BoS Members

S.No.	Name	Membership	Present/Absent
1.	Dr. S. J. Shah	Head of Department, Chairperson	Present
2.	Prof Vrunda Thaker	Subject Expert, VC-Nominee	Present
3.	Prof. Shalini Rajkumar	Subject Expert, AC Nominee	Leave of Absence

4.	Prof . Pushpa Robin	Subject Expert, AC Nominee	Present
5.	Dr Jitendra Wagh	Industry Representative	Present
6.	Dr. P. G. Bhandari	Member Secretary	Present
7.	Dr. Dipak V. Parmar	Faculty member	Present
8.	(Dr.) Mayur P. Parmar	Faculty member	Present
9.	Ms. Heema Kotak	Faculty member	Present
10.	Mrs Khushboo Mehta	Faculty member	Present
11.	Dr Krishna Joshi	Alumni Representative	Present

Minutes of Meeting:

The Board of Studies in Biochemistry met as indicated above and discussed on the afore mentioned Agenda. Sharing the expertise of all the members and with very proactive inputs, the members unanimously resolved the following:

- 1. Common Agenda
 - a. NEP 2020 for adoption **Appreciated and Recommended**
 - b. OBE concepts specific to UG programs Appreciated and Recommended
 - Model of conceptual framework for UG programs under Choice Based Credit
 System (CBCS) Agreed and Recommended
 - d. General note on Concept to Practice component Appreciated and Recommended
 - e. General Academic Rules and Regulations **Recommended**
- 2. The Regulations for the below stated programmes were discussed & framed.
 - B.Sc Biochemistry (Enclosure–I)

The above will be effective for students admitted from AY 2021-22 & onwards

- 3. The Scheme of Learning & Evaluation for all Semesters of the following programme of the Department were **discussed & framed.**
 - B.Sc Biochemistry (Enclosure–II)

Discussions:

- Component Core Enrichment was introduced comprising of Concept to Practice, Internship I & II during intermediate semester break/s.
- Part III was divided in A and B section. In Part A; Introduction to Sustainable Development Goals course is introduced and Section B Component Finishing School (FS) comprising various courses is introduced.
- CBCS , OBE being adopted

The above will be effective for students admitted from AY 2021-22 & onwards

- 4. The Syllabi for the courses of the below stated programmes of the Department were discussed & framed.
 - a. 1st Semester for B.Sc Biochemistry (Enclosure –III)

Discussions:

- Theory courses Foundations of Biochemistry and Molecules of Life, syllabus is modified 20% & more in terms of content. Along with theory Practical; Basic Biochemistry Practical also modified 20% & more in terms of content.
- Change in Nomenclature of following courses:
 - o Biophysical Chemistry is changed to Foundations of Biochemistry
 - o Biomolecules changed to Molecules of Life.
 - o Biochemistry Practical –I changed to Basic Biochemistry Practical.

The detailed syllabi in the new format for adoption of OBE indicating course outcomes with K levels, pedagogical & assessment tools as appended

The above will be effective for students admitted from AY 2021-22 & onwards

- 5. List of Paper Setter and Examiner for the 1st semester courses were discussed and finalized as indicated in (Enclosure IV)
- 6. Question paper pattern for 1st semester theory & practical courses were discussed and finalized (Enclosure V)

Sr. No.	Name	Membership	Signature/Presence
1.	Dr. S. J. Shah	Head of Department, Chairperson	
2.	Prof Vrunda Thaker	Subject Expert, VC- Nominee	Present
3.	Prof. Shalini Rajkumar	Subject Expert, AC Nominee	Leave of Absence
4.	Prof . Pushpa Robin	Subject Expert, AC Nominee	Present
5.	Dr Jitendra Wagh	Industry Representative	Present
6.	Dr. P. G. Bhandari	Member Secretary	
7.	Dr. Dipak V. Parmar	Faculty member	
8.	(Dr.) Mayur P. Parmar	Faculty member	
9.	Ms. Heema Kotak	Faculty member	
10.	Mrs Khushboo Mehta	Faculty member	
11.	Dr Krishna Joshi	Alumni Representative	Present