Shri Manibhai Virani & Smt. Navalben Virani Science College (Autonomous)

(Affiliated to Saurashtra University, Rajkot) **Board of Studies in Chemistry**

Doard of Studies in Chemistr

Programs : B.Sc. Chemistry

Date: 12/11/2022 Mode: Hybrid mode Time: 11:00 AM

Sr. No.	Name	Membership	Present/Absent
1.	Dr. K.D. Ladva	Chairperson	Present
2.	Dr. M. S. Vadodaria	Chairperson	Present
3.	Dr. P.B. Nariya	Member Secretary	Present
4.	Dr. D. M. Purohit	Member	Present
5.	Dr. A. V. Kalavadia	Member	Present
6.	Dr. B. M. Vadher	Member	Present
7.	Dr. K. M. Rajkotiya	Member	Present
8.	Dr. D. N. Joshi	Member	Present
9.	Dr. S. D. Tala	Member	Present
10.	Dr. A. Y. Cholera	Member	Present
11.	Dr. M. M. Savant	Member	Present
12.	Dr. A. S. Patel	Member	Present
13.	Dr. P. A. Ambasana	Member	Absent
14.	Dr. Y. J. Fernandes	AC nominated Subject	Leave of Absence
15.	Dr. N. P. Kapuriya	Experts	Present
16.	Dr. A. H. Bapodara	Vice-Chancellor Nominated Member - Subject Expert Present	
17.	Dr. A. C. Pandya	Member from Industry/ Corporate Sector/ Allied Area Online	
18.	Dr. K. Menpara	Member - Alumnus	Online

AGENDA

- 1. Introductory remarks by Chairperson of the BoS.
 - Confirmation of MoM & ATR of previous BoS held on 02/05/2022.
 - Departmental activities and updates.
- 2. Scheme of Learning and Evaluation for Sem.-4 of B.Sc. Chemistry program.
- 3. Syllabi of all theory & practical courses including core elective courses of Sem.-4 of B.Sc. Chemistry program.
- 4. Syllabi of Part-II DSE cluster theory & practical course/s for Sem.-4; offered by the department.
- 5. Syllabi and evaluation norms of Part-II Trans Disciplinary Elective (TDE) course offered by the department.
- 6. Question paper pattern for all theory & practical courses of Sem.-4 of B.Sc. Chemistry program.
- 7. List of paper setters and examiners for all theory & practical courses of B.Sc. Chemistry program.
- 8. Any other agenda with permission of the Chair.

Minutes of Meeting:

The Board of Studies in Chemistry met as indicated above and discussed on the aforementioned Agenda. Sharing the expertise of all the members and with very proactive inputs, the members unanimously resolved the following:

- 1. To confirm the minutes of MoM of previous BoS held on 02/05/2022 Approved
- 2. Action taken for the recommendation of 6th Board of Studies **Discussed and Appreciated** Discussion:
 - Dr. K.D. Ladva shared the progress made for the implementation of Concept to Practice component, NEP 2020 and OBE concept by the department during last academic semester.
 - Brief outline of students' engagement under Design Thinking / Brainstorming activities for Concept to Practice were discussed along with outcomes observed and challenges faced for the same.
- Discipline Specific Elective-Cluster courses and TDE courses are discussed and framed for UG students

- 4. Scheme of Learning and Evaluations for all Semesters (with course titles and related details up to 4th Semesters) of the following programmes of the Department were **discussed & framed**.
 - a) B.Sc. Chemistry Program (Enclosure-I)

Discussions:

- Dr. K. D. Ladva, Dr. Atul Bapodara appreciated the thoughtful designing of OBE framework.
- Dr. M.S. Vadodariya briefed about the recently introduced TDE and DSE-Cluster in continuation with discussion made in previous BoS meeting.
- Introduction of trans-disciplinary courses under OBE framework can be considered as one of the visible outcome of NEP implementation.

The above will be effective for students admitted from AY 2021-22 & onwards.

- 5. Syllabi for the courses of the below stated programmes of the Department were **discussed & framed**.
 - a) 4th Semester courses for B.Sc. Chemistry Program (Enclosure-II)

Discussions:

- Chairperson of the BoS in chemistry discussed the progression of OBE implementation in UG in light of NEP.
- Dr. Kalpesh Menpara and Dr. Ajay Pandya shared his personal experiences and shared the concern to have Accounting or Financial related courses in DSE - Cluster for all graduates. He emphasized by explaining the need of financial literacy and tax structure etc.
- The newly framed syllabi approved by members, and seconded by Dr. Naval Kapuriya.

The detailed syllabi in the new format for adoption of OBE indicating course outcomes with K levels, pedagogical & assessment tools as appended.

The above will be effective for students admitted from AY 2021-22& onwards.

6. Syllabi for the Course offered to other programs in 4th Semester were **discussed & framed** as per details mentioned in table below - (**Enclosure – III**)

		Week			
1	Discipline Specific Elective Cluster 2 (Offered in Cluster courses)	3 (T)+ 4(P)	3+1	Other B.Sc. Program	IV
2	TDE 1: Chemical Hazards and Safety	2	2	Other B.Sc. Program	IV

Discussions:

- Members briefly discussed about varied needs of other science domains and framed syllabi with trans-disciplinary requirements of fundamentals of chemistry. Dr. Ladva and Dr. Kapuriya emphasized to include Sustainable Development as one of the Track for Cluster development along with exactingly indentified tracks - Data Science, IKS, Technology, and Health & Wellness.
- Dr. K. D. Ladva suggested that prerequisite is not necessary in TDE Elective courses.
- The detailed syllabi in the new format for adoption of OBE indicate course outcomes with K levels, pedagogical & assessment tools as appended.
- The above will be effective for students admitted from AY 2021-22 & onwards.
- 7. List of examiners for theory & practical paper evaluation for 4th Semester courses were discussed and finalized as indicated in (Enclosures IV and V)
- 8. Question paper pattern for 4th Semester theory & practical course were **discussed and framed**. (Enclosure-VI)
- 9. Other Agenda: New Co-curricular Courses (CoC) introduce by the department offered to other department in semester III & IV were **discussed and framed**. (Enclosure –VII)

Sr. No.	Name	Membership	Signature
1.	Dr. K.D. Ladva	Chairperson	Soll
2.	Dr. M. S. Vadodaria	Chairperson	61
3.	Dr. P.B. Nariya	Member Secretary	Nemuy 0.B. 12/11/2/
4.	Dr. D. M. Purohit	Member	Ivin Olm
5.	Dr. A. V. Kalavadia	Member	ASAVIM
6.	Dr. B. M. Vadher	Member	Bm
7.	Dr. K. M. Rajkotiya	Member	Boly
8.	Dr. D. N. Joshi	Member	D~
9.	Dr. S. D. Tala	Member	Sex
10.	Dr. A. Y. Cholera	Member	Aydrotor 22
11.	Dr. M. M. Savant	Member	M. 91 8 wyant 12/11/22
12.	Dr. A. S. Patel	Member	Aspard 12/11/22
13.	Dr. P. A. Ambasana	Member	Leave of Absence
14.	Dr. Y. J. Fernandes	AC nominated Subject	Leeve of Absence
15.	Dr. N. P. Kapuriya	Experts	Jag 12/11/22
16.	Dr. A. H. Bapodara	Vice-Chancellor Nominated Member - Subject Expert	Ansgrow
17.	Dr. A. C. Pandya	Member from Industry/ Corporate Sector/ Allied Area	- Online -
18.	Dr. K.M. Menpara	Member - Alumnus	- online -/